i researched queer comics & all i got were these great longreads

what’s up what’s up. I’ve been working all semester on a research project about the trajectory of queer comics since the 1960s. That paper is (at long last) finished, but while I was researching I collected a bunch of interviews, standalone comics, and cartoonist profiles that didn’t exactly fit in the project but are well worth sharing. Here we go:

  • This interview with Alison Bechdel, mostly about Fun Home
  • This comic by Eric Orner about gentrification in Israel (it’s not directly queer, but Orner is one of the artists I researched. He wrote the strip “The Mostly Unfabulous Social Life of Ethan Green” which I also recommend!)
  • The graphic novel Sexile (a biography of Cuban-American trans artist/activist Adela Vazquez) by Jaime Cortez. Yes, he put the entire thing online for free, go read it now. I actually haven’t yet but I’m looking forward to it!
  • A couple of panels of Andrea Natalie’s strip “Stonewall Riots”. This strip ran in Outweek, a publication that was around for a hot second in the early 90s. I’m not sure if it ran anywhere else, but I feel like I’ve found a hidden treasure here and I think I need the entire anthology.
  • This little profile on Rica Takashima’s comic “Rica ‘tte Kanji!?”
  • And this one on Leanne Franson’s “Liliane, Bi-Dyke”

I have so many comics anthologies on my Amazon wishlist right now, you don’t even know. Read at your own risk. (Also if you need any webcomics recommendations, hit me up!)

Leave a Reply

